Monday, December 31, 2012

Clouds

"Mommy mmmmm, your mashed potatoes are like clouds."  
No need to wish me a happy new year!

not bleu

Friday, December 28, 2012

Unimaginable

Once in awhile life presents breath taking perfection and harmony that is unimaginable most of the time. Soak it up.

Unimaginable

Thursday, December 27, 2012

Kreplach

Mayn kinder essen kreplach, fershtays?

Kreplach

Kreplach More

Wednesday, December 26, 2012

Flower

Girl: (WITH FERVENT DETERMINATION) He loves me, he loves me not, he loves me, he loves me not, he loves me, he loves...
Flower:  (THINKING INTROSPECTIVELY) Really? Isn't it enough I grew all these fragrant pink petals? Can't I for once just be a flower without all that pressure?"

flower

Tuesday, December 25, 2012

Missed

If you don't take a moment and look around what you missed will be long gone.

Fly

Monday, December 24, 2012

Penicillin

Nothing says Christmas like a simmering pot of Jewish penicillin.

Penicillin

Friday, December 21, 2012

Trail

Hikers mark their trail as they trek through unfamiliar forests to avoid getting lost.
Clearly, knitters do the same.

Trail

Thursday, December 20, 2012

Plans

We have big holiday plans, what are yours?

Plans

Wednesday, December 19, 2012

Laundry

In my secret housewife fantasies I want to scream in a dramatic, sobbing movie star voice,
"No more, not another load!  Damn you to hell dirty laundry!"  And upon uttering those words, the wash would magically dissolve, promptly reappearing in the drawers clean, dry and folded.  



laundry

Tuesday, December 18, 2012

Dogs

Our philatelical family theme song this holiday season: Who let the dogs out? 

My Photo Stream-296

Monday, December 17, 2012

Reassuring

I'm sharing the reassuring flavors in homemade cranberry pomegranate jam.
Find someone to share your most reassuring flavors with, it helps.


Reassuring

Sunday, December 16, 2012

Surrender

Sometimes there is no choice but to surrender to the change of seasons.

IMG_6554

Saturday, December 15, 2012

Remain

The names have weathered away, generations of people long gone, the angels remain.

Birbury Grave Angel

Friday, December 14, 2012

Score

The score is 7 down, 1 to go and 0 actual fire trucks needed, yet.

IMG_1855

Thursday, December 13, 2012

Response

The fight-or-flight response is a biological response of animals to acute stress,
i.e., see my relationship with knitting project below. 


Response

Wednesday, December 12, 2012

Shadow

Beyond darkness and shadows lurks promise of a vast shining sea or a somewhat polluted lake. 

Shadow

Monday, December 10, 2012

Lottery

Recently, for the first time, I bought lottery tickets and lost.

Today in a life lottery, totally unrelated to money, and far more significant, I won.
I found out that I'm dense, and that's a good thing.
From here on out I am redefining winner.

Lottery

Saturday, December 8, 2012

Eight

Happy Hanukkah cookies to all, and to all a good night.

IMG_1794

Eight


Friday, December 7, 2012

Didn't

No use crying over spilled milk, or fancy imported broken dinner plates... we didn't.

Didn't

Thursday, December 6, 2012

Top

Trapped, cornered, struggling to stay on top.  Inspired by Le Corbusier, 1932.

Top

Top

Wednesday, December 5, 2012

Letter

Starting the day with a love letter left behind by my son in the midst of chaos.

IMG_1762

IMG_1764

Tuesday, December 4, 2012

Resilience

Today I find resilience. When life bores holes in my trunk and eats into my core, I will continue to stand tall welcoming flowers to grow around me even in the harshest of weather.

Resilience

Resilience